Currently Reading

So from February 2009 to December 2010 I lived with the ‘rents in SE Oklahoma. It was a very small town. (In fact, town is probably a stretch since there were more cows in the county than people.)

The library was open from 12:00PM to 5:00 PM daily and it was there that I first picked up Tony Horowitz’s Confederates in the Attic. That lead me to Shelby Foote’s The Civil War Narrative.

It was the beginning of my current obsession of reading about The Civil War.

Currently I am reading Fateful Lightning: A New History of the Civil War and Reconstruction by Allen C. Guelzo.

I am only half way through it but have found many things in this book that I haven’t encountered in the other Civil War tomes that I’ve been through in the last 6 years.

For instance, shrapnel is actually named for a type of case shot ? Shrapnel gets it name from its Brit inventor Lt. Henry Shrapnel.

There’s also a concise discussion about slavery. The ability for Southerners to move their human property into newly formed territories and growing Northern objections to slavery in the territories is what caused the riff between the North and the South. (There are also other arguments in the North/South riff, but slavery was by far the largest. )

I’ll keep you posted.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

