Bruce Catton’s Army of the Potomac

Though I managed to purchase Bruce Catton’s Army of the Potomac series last summer, I hadn’t made time to read it.

Since 2009, I’ve read MANY books on the Civil War. I’ve lost count in fact. I must say that this is one of the best written series of books that I’ve read.

I like Mr. Catton’s writing style and I also like how he provides bibliographical notes for each chapter AND also provides a bibliography of the primary source material.

I began reading the series.

The Army of the Potomac was plagued with incompetence and timid leadership. All the wasted lives, missed opportunities, lack of communication, 70%+ casualty rates,  and hubris [cough:George B. McClellan]were such a part of the Army of the Potomac. If one walks away with nothing else. You can take that to the bank.

In the 21st century, its incomprehensible the slaughter that these men inflicted on each other.

Leave a Reply

