War like the Thunderbolt: The Battle and Burning of Atlanta

Very warm out today. Almost 75. Considering its been gray and overcast for the last few days. Its very nice.

I finished Catton’s Civil War Army of the Potomac trilogy, I’m now reading War like the Thunderbolt: The Battle and Burning of Atlanta by Russell Bonds.

This book is by a Southerner. An Atlantan to be exact. As a native Kansan (A”Yankee”) I find myself rolling my eyes at some of the things that Mr. Bonds says, because to me, they seem very pro-Confederate.

I do like the fact that Mr. Bonds includes pictures of many of the Union and Confederate generals. I like the maps. I try to read and then orient myself on the map so I can know where attacks began or ended. Hopefully all this Civil War knowledge will come to usefulness someday (other than battling on reddit). I should write a Civil War related script or book.

Leave a Reply

